And How Do You Succeed?

Have you ever had a task so daunting that you knew it could only succeed with God’s help?  At times we may be at a loss as to what or how to accomplish a task but if it is given to us by God he will guide us and show us the way.

A recent sermon by a Pastor brought this to light and reminded me once again  of God’s power and grace to us.  The Pastor quoted from President Abraham Lincoln’s farewell address of February 1861 as he left Springfield Illinois to go to Washington to become President. The speech said in part: “…. Today I leave you.  I go to assume a task more difficult than that which devolved upon Washington.  (ed. note:George Washington)  Unless the great God who assisted him shall be with and aid me I must fail; but if the same omniscient mind and mighty arm that directed and protected him shall guide and support me I shall not fail – I shall succeed.  Let us all pray that the God of our fathers may not forsake us now.  To Him I commend you all.  Permit me to ask that with equal sincerity and faith you will invoke His wisdom and guidance for me.  With these words I must leave you-for how long I know not.  Friends, one and all, I must now bid you an affectionate farewell.”

The work of Education And More is daunting at times, but when we see the overwhelming poverty and the numbers of un-schooled children, then we are humbled because we know God is guiding us, leading us in our endeavors. We need to remember the help the Lord provides in our daily tasks as well as our life changing tasks, just as President Lincoln recognized his need and the help he received from God.

Leave a Reply

